Walk VIII: Prenzlauerberg to Savignyplatz

August 17, 2016 § 1 Comment

What can I say: the West is not as interesting.

The areas of East Berlin are more vital. It’s almost as if West Berlin has had too long to get civilized.

Savignyplatz has the reputation of being one of the nicest neighbourhoods of Berlin. I walked the nine kilometers there with my dog, Hasi. She was curious as well; she’d only made the acquaintance of Eastern canines up to this point.

I didn’t take any pictures of Savignyplatz. Nothing to see there. Which must sound insulting to those who built it and live there today. But really. Nuthin’.

It’s a quaint European neighbourhood but I expected it, as a wealthy West Berlin area, to be positively Parisian in its beauty. Nope- one finds prettier parts of Berlin in the former East.

My highlight was the view that I captured in the following photo. Post-pubescent Berlin, in the midst of large-scale transformation. DSC_0160.jpg

Behind the fence lay a gargantuan hole in the ground, though not for long. I appreciated the how long is now staring at me from the other side of the abyss. I wish I had a clever answer, but I’ll go with the obvious: forever.

§ One Response to Walk VIII: Prenzlauerberg to Savignyplatz

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Walk VIII: Prenzlauerberg to Savignyplatz at Marc Aden Gray's Column!.

meta

